The Depreciation Guild

23 05 2010

The Depreciation Guild- Spirit Youth


Well well well, the Depreciation Guild includes two members from The Pains of Being Pure at Heart: frontman Kurt Feldman and guitarist Christoph Hochheim. The Depreciation Guild was founded two years prior to the Pain’s formation. The two bands complement another with Pains teetering on the twee side of things and The Depreciation Guild building its very own blend of 8-bit beats, clanging chords and heady hooks. Feldman says, “This record is heavy but its not very shoegaze.” They also had a self released debut in 2007 with In Her Gentle Jaws. Their album is wistful, intimate and a tad bit precious to be honest. I like it, but still not as much as The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. I found myself going back to listen to them because every time I played a track of The Depreciation Guild, I found myself wanting to listen to The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. But nonetheless, this album is still enjoyable and you can definitely hear the similarities between the two bands. My personal favorites are #1 My Chariot and #8 Spirit Youth. I thought this would be a good band to blog about purely because I like The Pains of Being Pure at Heart and this album got me a little excited to hear a different side from two of the members.

RIYL: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, The Bridal Shop, A Sunny Day in Glasgow

Picks:

1. My Chariot

4. Dream About Me

5. November

6. Trace

8. Spirit Youth

9. Through the Snow

Profanities on Album: None

Kanine Records

Here’s “My Chariot”:

And The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. You can compare, but like I said, I like The Pains of Being Pure at Heart more, especially this song. I kept finding myself craving to hear this song each time I reviewed one of The Depreciation Guild’s songs. Love this song, I will never get sick of it: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart-Stay Alive. I feel every time I listen to this, it just reminds me how much better this is than The Depreciation Guild (just my opinion!, if you disagree, totally understandable). Plus, I just love their album cover so I’m glad its shown below.

Enjoy!

-Kellie

Kellie’s Pop Rocks

Fridays 3pm-5pm

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

